White Lightning Trail
200 miles of unique American stories told every day through Appalachian arts and crafts, preserved buildings and sites, historic town squares and the tales of legendary characters.
Cradle of Country Music Walking Tour
White Lightning starts here! You'll find gifts, snacks, area information, and can park for free (with permit) to enjoy much of Knoxville. Built in 1925, this building first housed Kuhlman's Store and became the visitor center in 2004, now operated by Visit Knoxville. If you're here at noon, stick around for the live radio broadcast of world-famous WDVX Blue Plate Special, and experience both unknown talents as well as legends such as Bela Fleck.
Mast General Store
As you walk along this main thoroughfare, enjoy some of the city's greatest assets and icons: Mast General Store, home to over 500 old-fashioned, hard-to-find candies. Art Market Gallery, an East Tennessee artist cooperative. Downtown Grill & Brewery, the city's first modern brewpub. East Tennessee History Center, where the signature exhibit explores 250 years of East Tennessee's culture from Native Americans and the Civil War to civil rights and country music. The 1928 Tennessee Theatre (Tennessee's Official State Theatre) and the 1909 Bijou Theatre. Tours by advance reservations.
This historic district has stories to tell dating all the way back to 1854. The area has served as a farmer's market, commercial district, political stage and cultural center; home to Confederates and Unionists, saloonkeepers and prohibitionists; and witness and host to great American history. Roy Acuff got his start here, as did Elvis Presley. Stroll the sidewalks and duck into charming cafes, gift shops, pubs and more in this vibrant and eccentric district.
Wall Avenue to Union Avenue
Knoxville, TN 37902
The first frame house built west of the Appalachian Mountains in 1792, this was the home of territorial Governor and signer of the U.S. Constitution, William Blount. It served, for a period, as the administrative capital of the Southwestern Territory, and was also the first building in the area with windows, causing the Cherokee to call it "the house with many eyes." Blount died here in 1800, but the house had another significant tenant: Confederate spy Belle Boyd, who used it as her refuge in 1863.
Women's Basketball Hall of Fame
Opened in June 1999, this is the only facility in the world of its kind dedicated to women's basketball. The hall offers an excellent collection of multimedia presentations, artifacts and experiences.
James White Fort
Knoxville's location near the center of the Great Valley of East Tennessee was the hunting ground of the Cherokee Indians prior to its settlement by Europeans. Revolutionary War veteran James White moved from North Carolina and established his home here in 1786, building a fort and cluster of cabins. This re-creation sits less than a mile from the original site and offers tours and hands-on interpretations of open-hearth cooking, blacksmithing and spinning.
This district is a vibrant evolution of what was known as "The Bowery" around 1900: a bawdy neighborhood of saloons, pool halls, houses of ill repute and gambling dens. Later it became known as "The Bottom" and was settled by early Greek immigrants, segregated African-Americans, and bootleggers. Revitalization in the 1980s turned it into a unique historic district with an eclectic mix of shops, restaurants, clubs and Knoxville's first winery, Blue Slip Winery.
Central St. and Jackson Ave.
Old Gray & National Cemeteries
Established in 1850, Old Gray is a prestigious final resting place for prominent Knoxvillians. Just beyond it is National, established in 1863 to bury fallen Union troops. It was the first to honor th edead with small flags on Memorial Day.
543 N. Broadway St.
Originally founded as supply depot Fort Adair in 1791, this community organized as "Fountain Head" and built a church and campground for revivals. In 1885, the site was re-developed as the Fountain Head Hotel and its heart-shaped duck pond known as Fountain City Lake remains today. Stroll the sidewalks, discover historical markers, and pop into locally-owned shops and restaurants.
Litton's Market opened in 1946 not as a restaurant, but as a grocery and hardware store with a full-service gas station in Knoxville's Inskip community. The original owner's son, Barry Litton, later opened this location as a meat market. In 1981, a customer asked Barry to fry him a hamburger and the restaurant was born. Try the "Thunder Road" burger or one of their unbelievable desserts.
2803 Essary Dr.
The Fruit & Berry Patch
Purchase or pick your own produce including berries, grapes, apples and corn. Better yet, refresh with a fruit slush or fried pie.
4407 McCloud Rd
Union County Chamber of Commerce
Stop in for maps, guides and county information in the historic 1918 Maynardville State Bank. This Classical Revival-style building features Doric columns and housed this predominantly agricultural community's bank from 1922-30 when it closed following the 1929 stock market crash.
Big Ridge State Park
Nestled on Norris Lake, this was one of five demonstration parks developed by Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) along with the National Park Service and the Civilian Conservationi Corps (CCC). Make sure to see Norton Gristmill, built in 1825; Sharp's Station Fort, a remnant of the late 1700s; and Indian Rock, where a plaque marks the death of a settler at- tacked by Native Americans. The park also offers cabins, camping, swimming, picnic areas and hiking trails.
Barn Harts Gift Shop
This quaint little gift shop offers collectables and souvenirs.
3704 Andersonville Hwy
Museum of Appalachia
The Museum of Appalachia, a Smithsonian Affiliate, is a living history museum--a pioneer mountain farm-village that lends voice to the people of Southern Appalachia through the artifacts and stories they left behind.
Appalachian Arts Craft Center
The center was founded in 1970 to "enrich the souls and pocketbooks of low-income people in Anderson County " by teaching, producing, and selling traditional handcrafts. Today, it's a nonprofit organization and highly-recognized educational facility where local artisans and visitors gather to share creative ideas and talents. Stop in to view the latest exhibition, purchase a piece, or just learn more.
2716 Andersonville Hwy
Hammer's Dry Goods
If you haven't been to Hammer's, then you haven't been to Clinton. This locally owned discount department store offers top brands at amazingly low prices.
371 Market St.
Little Ponderosa Zoo
Did you know there are tigers living in East Tennessee? A visit here puts you in touch literally with exotic creatures and farm animals alike. Enjoy the walkabout zoo, petting zoo, barnyard nursery, Park and walk to visit points 40-42.
Historic Downtown Clinton
Stroll down Market and Main Streets and stop in more than 35 unique shops (including multiple antique stores) and local restaurants. Come on the first weekend of each month for special music and family focused events, or stop by the monthly farmers market during spring and summer.
Hoskins Drug Store & Soda Fountain
Welcome to the days when the community drug store wasn't a national chain, but an important town gathering spot. Established in 1930 to serve the Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA) and textile mill employees, Hoskins grew into an eight-store chain. This one is the original visit the 1940s soda fountain, traditional drug store, hot plate restaurant, and gift shop to step back in time.
111 N. Main St.
Green McAdoo Cultural Center
Gain an impressive, educational and authentic glimpse into the racial struggles of 12 young, brave, African-American students. They changed history when they walked into the all-white Clinton High School and started a six-year battle to desegregate the first public school in the South. Take a seat at a desk, watch a video, then walk through the self-guided, interactive exhibit telling their story.
Experienced anglers consider this river to be one of the finest trout fisheries in the country. The river is dammed twice: by Norris Dam, the first dam built by TVA, and by Melton Hill Dam, the only TVA dam with a lock not located on the Tennessee River. It empties into the Tennessee River at Kingston. Access points for fishing and boating, guide services, maps and Songbird Trail are available.
Lenoir Museum Historical Complex
Within Norris Dam State Park, you'll find this complex that includes a museum, an 18th century grist mill, and threshing barn. Through artifacts collected by Will Lenoir over 60 years, learn more about Early Americana in the "Touch" museum, featuring Indian artifacts, fine china, pressed glass bottles, baskets, furniture and more. Museum open Wed.-Sun. Bristol Mill is seasonal.
125 Village Green Cr.
Norris Dam State Park
Continue N on TN-71 to pt. 48. Take the time to visit one of the area's most beautiful state parks, with 4,000 acres on the shores of Norris Lake, surrounding Norris Dam. Caves, scenic valleys, sparkling streams, wildflower trails and hiking trails are among the natural wonders here. If you're planning to make a night (or two) of it, cabins and camping areas are available.
Caryville Main Street
Support area craftsmen at Main Street Artist Village then grab a bite to eat at local icon Scotty's Hamburger, once featured in the Washington Post for its "little square burgers and Liar's Bench." Find new biker boots at Owens Shoe Store and notice the brightly painted "Honeybee" patch - it's a stop on the Appalachain Quilt Trail (learn more at point 44).
203 Main St.
Moonshine Exhibition at Hampton Inn
4459 Veterans Memorial Hwy
Cove Lake State Park
Take in stunning viewes at the foot of the Cumberland Plateau. You'll find picnic shelters, a 50-meter pool, a climate controlled pavilion, RV and tent camping sites, playgrounds, a fishing pier, boat rentals, Native American mounds and more. Catch dinner at local favorite Rickard Ridge BBQ located on site. You'll also find the trail headquarters for the Justin P. Wilson Cumberland Trail State Park - this is a great place to experience part of it. The Louie Bluie Festival happens every October, honoring Campbell County native "Louie Bluie Armstrong," one of the nation's finest string band musicians.
Campbell County Chamber of Commerce Tourism Center
Continue N on W. Central Ave./Veterans Memorial Hwy/US-25W/TN-63/9 for 1.7 miles. Turn R onto Sharp & Perkins Rd. Turn R onto Main St. to pt. 59.
Campbell County Historical Society Museum & LaFollette Townwalk
Founded inthe 1890s, LaFollette boasts beauty and history. At the museum, learn coal mining heritage, then get out and explore. Be sure to notice Glen Oaks (private property), the 1895 Victorian home designed by architect George Barber for Harvey LaFollette. Grab a bite to eat at Big Creek Market & Deli and hav ea picnic in L.J. Seargeant Park. If you've planned for more strenuous adventure, look for the Cumberland Trail Tank Springs Trailhead (part of Justin P. Wilson Cumberland Trail State Park) on Tennessee Avenue. LaFollette sits near Big Creek Gap, known as the "Keystone of the Confederacy." One of the only natural openings through the Cumberland Mountains, it was prime terrain during the Civil War and changed hands several times. Fortifications and trench work remain in the area.
570 Main St.
McCloud Mountain Restaurant, Lodge & Skywalk
Dine atop the Cumberland Mountains in a 2,700-foot-high room with magnificent views of Norris Lake, the Great Smoky Mountains and scenic Powell Valley. Reservations required for access to site.
1220 McClouds Trail
Abraham Lincoln Library & Museum
Located at Lincoln Memorial University, this site houses one of the most diverse Lincoln and Civil War collections in the U.S. Many rare items are exhibited, such as the cane Lincoln carried that fateful night at Ford's Theatre. Almost 30,000 artifacts tell the story of this period in America's history
Daniel Boone Visitor Center
This location inside Cumberland Gap National Historical Park serves as the trailhead for the Wilderness Road. A pavilion features the sights and sounds of early pioneers. Gap Cave tickets sold here. An estimated 200,000 to 300,000 American settlers passed through the Cumberland Gap on their way into Kentucky and the Ohio Valley before 1810.
Old Hwy 25E
At an elevation of 2,440 feet, the overlook offers a gorgeous view across Kentucky, Tennessee, and Virginia. A winding 4-mile road leads from the park visitor center to the viewing platform, overlooking the historic town of Cumberland Gap.
US 25 E South
Step into the past at the historic Hensley Settlement on top of Brush Mountain. Stroll down fence-lined lanes, visit the blacksmith's shop, look into the springhouse and sit in the one-room schoolhouse. The settlement was established in 1904 by Sherman Hensley and was occupied until 1951. The historic buildings remain and can be visited on this 3.5-4 hour tour.
Historic Newlee Iron Furnace
Although all that remains is the lower portion of the original 1819 30-foot-high blast furnace, it is actually a very small part of what was once an impressively large complex. It was here that limestone and iron ore were heated by coal and converted to "pig iron," which was shipped down the Powell River to factories in Chattanooga.
Join park rangers on an exciting two-hour adventure exploring this majestic underground cathedral. Discover glistening stalagmites and flowstone cascades. The moderately strenuous, 1.5-mile tour explores four levels of the cave, and includes a 1-mile hike along historic Wilderness Road. This cave was a stop along the Underground Railroad.
The Olde Mill Inn Bed & Breakfast
Enjoy modern amenities during your stay in one of The Gap's oldest standing buildings. Musket ball holes mark the 1750s cabin and water turning the mill wheel flows from a lake under The Pinnacle. Reservations required.
Pt. 92 is just past pt. 91. Women's clothing and gifts.
120 Main Street
Carla's Cafe Cakes & Catering
This is New Tazewell's version of your favorite coffee shop. Cozy, beautifully appointed and serving fresh everything; with a Paula Dean-like "howdy y'all."
109 Main St.
In addition to those great tasting Grainger County tomatoes, the farm offers a variety of vegetables, jams, pickles and salsas.
2999 Hwy-11W S
Bethesda Church & Cemetery
This 1835 church was used as a hospital for wounded soldiers on both sides of the Civil War, as well as treating patients with smallpox. In 1864, the church was hit by a cannonball, and the patched area is still visible on the eastern wall. The cemetery contains the graves of 80 Confederate soldiers and features a kiosk on the Civil War and local history. The site is a stop on Tennessee's Civil War Trail.
4990 Bethesda Rd.
General Longstreet Museum
During the Civil War, Lieutenant General Longstreet's corps occupied this house in the winter of 1863-64 with the intended task of securing East Tennessee for the Confederacy. This site is currently being restored as a museum.
Crockett Tavern Museum
A replica of the boyhood home of Tennessee folk hero Davy Crockett, the museum contains artifacts from Crockett's childhood and tells the story of this legendary figure in American history. May-Oct.
Rose Center Museum
Located in the 1892 home of Morristown's first coeducational public high school, Rose Center is now a cultural center and museum. This beautifully restored building includes concert and performance space, art classes, art gallery, and a regional history museum including Civil War exhibits.
442 W. 2nd N. St.
Morristown Area Chamber of Commerce
Morristown's first European settler was a farmer named Gideon Morris who arrived here during a rapid western movement from the Watauga Settlement, near Elizabethton (featured on trail). In the late 1700s, the "Big Road" stretched from White's Fort (Knoxville) eastward over the old Native American trail, now the basic path of Highway 11E. The road and the 1856 arrival of the East Tennessee Virginia & Georgia Railroad helped to build and grow the community of Morristown. This is the town where Davy Crockett grew up, and the center of strategic Civil War battles. It was and is the "Crossroads of Dixie," where the main routes from Knoxville to Baltimore cross the famous Buffalo Trail from the Cumberland Gap. Today, its downtown area is nationally known for its SkyMart, an overhead sidewalk that creates a "second floor" of pedestrian space and storefronts.
825 W. 1st N. St.
Panther Creek State Park
Located on 1,435 acres and bordered by Cherokee Lake, this state park offers a pristine wildlife preserve, hiking, mountain biking and horse trails. Visitors also enjoy a boat ramp, swimming pool, camp sites, picnic pavilions and a gorgeous scenic overlook at its highest point of the lake.
Historic Downtown Newport
The Cocke County seat is alive with historic buildings and a variety of shops: East Tennessee Coffee Company, known for their "Cocke County Brew" and the best chicken salad sandwich around. Ace Antiques, where depression glass and political memorabilia abounds! Newport Dry Goods, step back in time at this bargain hunter's dream. Riverwalk, stroll and enjoy the beauty of the Pigeon River. As you explore town, be sure to notice the Rhea-Mims Hotel, built in 1925 out of native stone and now a senior center, and historic Elm Hill (private property), once the vacation home of Governor Ben Hooper.Ret
238 E. Broadway Street
The Farm Market
This Appalachian country restaurant and market is sure to please. Sit down to a farm breakfast with double-yolked eggs, home-churned butter and fresh picked berries; take home a handcrafted fishing pole or some fresh produce, but make sure to leave room for a legendary dessert.
642 W. Hwy 25/70
Fox & Hound Supper Club
Though you might hesitate to try a restaurant with no windows, trust us. This local favorite has some of the area's most delicious food. Come hungry for a juicy steak, a huge hamburger and so much more.
127 Fox and Hound Way
Brandywine Creek Steakhouse
Servers actually throw the rolls (straight from the oven) to smiling faces! Built on the site of the historic Wilson Tavern (where Bonnie and Clyde reportedly visited, shooting up the floors and ceilings and robbing the proprietor), Brandywine Creek's warm atmosphere, wooden dance floor and Texas-sized bar keep customers coming back,
1071 W. Hwy 25/70
Bush Beans Visitor Center
Discover the home of the "No. 1 Baked Beans in the World" when you visit the A.J. Bush & Company general store, founded in 1897. Now a museum, gift shop, theatre and cafe, see Jay Bush hand his loyal dog Duke on the big screen; walk through the canning process - literally - in a giant replica; learn your weight in beans and snap a photo with Duke. Make sure you try the pinto bean pie. Open Mon-Sat.
Douglas Lake & Dam
The dam furnished electric power for two critical industries during World War II-- aluminum production and the Manhattan Project operations at Oak Ridge. Today, the dam remains an integral part of TVA's overall water control system and the lake is a popular recreation destination, offering boating, fishing, camping and picnicking.
The state's second-oldest town is charming and well preserved, with a downtown National Historic District that has boutiques, antique shops and restaurants.
Tinsley-Bible Drug Store & Soda Fountain
Having celebrated its 100th anniversary in 2011, this popular lunch stop and drug store still has an old-fashioned soda fountain, complete with handmade shakes and the "Bible Burger."
Circle G Ranch Wild Animal Park & Camel Safari
Get up close and personal with over 500 exotic animals as they run freely on 100 acres. This drivethru park and camel safari is an experience only found off the beaten path!
The drive-in era hasn't faded here. This decades-old institution with a surprisingly extensive menu, remains forever popular.
8529 Asheville Highway
Knoxville, TN 37924
Pizza was first introduced to Knoxville by Greek immigrants, and the Pizza Palace is a worthy part of that tradition. In 1961, a Greek family established this rare institution (a pizza drive-in), and it continues to serve the oldfashioned, flat, almost crunchystyle pizza made popular more than 50 years ago. They also offer sandwiches and salads and, unusual for a drive-in, beer.
Alex Haley Heritage Square & Statue
Said to be the largest African-American statue in the country, this magnificent 13-foot bronze piece of art honors Alex Haley, author of the Pulitzer Prize winning novel "Roots: The Saga of An American Family." Haley, a storyteller and humanitarian, spent the last 14 years of his life in East Tennessee.
Mabry-Hazen House Museum
Located atop Mabry's Hill, the restored 1858 house served as headquarters for both Union and Confederate forces during the Civil War. This elegant home is filled with original furnishings as well as stories that offer a glimpse into the past.
Knoxville Botanical Garden & Arboretum
This not-for-profit was formed in 2001 for the purpose of creating a botanical garden and arboretum on the 44-acre site of a 200-year old Knoxville nursery. Located on a ridge-top five minutes from downtown, this site is the former property of the Joe N. Howell and C.B. Howell Nurseries, and features distinctive stone walls and buildings constructed by their employees. The Howell's nursery business was originally established in 1786 and the gardens represent a significant cultural landscape in Knoxville's history.
2743 Wimpole Ave.
Calhoun's - Bearden Hill
The perfect spot to finish your White Lightning journey is this microbrewery, located along the original Thunder Road route used by moonshine runners in the region. Enjoy a delicious meal and try out the namesake brew: Thunder Road.
6515 Kingston Pk.