Learn more about Mallory-Neely House.
After being closed for seven years and finally reopened in 2013, the 1852 Mallory-Neely House is a 25-room home in the "Millionaire's Row" section of Memphis. Now called Victorian Village, the area was home to Memphis' elite families in the late 19th century.
The home contains stained glass windows from the 1893 Chicago World's Fair, as well as hand-painted ceilings and parquet flooring. It is the only historic property in Memphis to retain most of its original furnishings. A three-year renovation has restored the Italianate villa to its former glory. Tours include information about the family of banker/cotton broker Isaac Kirtland, who built the home, and the life of Frances Neely Mallory, known as Daisy, whose family enlarged and furnished the home.
The first-floor double parlor is a study in opulence and ornamentation. A series of busts, molded on-site by Italian artisans, line the ceiling. A Chinese silk screen depicts the four seasons. Antonio Canova's "Psyche Revived by Cupid's Kiss" (the original is in the Louvre) is replicated in solid marble over onyx, supported by a brick pillar in the basement.
The second floor bedrooms showcase family photographs and works by Daisy's daughter, Frances Mallory Morgan, a painter and sculptor who ultimately adopted the Mallory-Neely carriage house as her studio. Daisy's rosewood bed, bought on her honeymoon in New Orleans, and a stained glass window thought to be a LeFarge original, are among the pieces original to the home.